THE PROJECT

An exceptional Street Art project on the theme of the “Encounter”.
More than 60 artists will meet in Geneva during summer 2020 to transform an abandoned velodrome into a monumental collective artwork. With this project the historic bike path will come to life again through art.

Historical

Founded in 1896, Urania Genève Sport (UGS) is the oldest football club in the Canton of Geneva. UGS counts 500 players, about thirty coaches and volunteers. Since August 2018, a younger and passionate committee took over the management of the club with the idea of revitalizing and rejuvenating the club’s image. The Frontenex stadium in Cologny, is the headquarters of the UGS association and the main training ground of the club with four football fields and 4,000 seats. Built in 1920, the stadium will soon celebrate its 100 year anniversary. For a long time, it welcomed not only footballers but also cyclists who came to enjoy a 350-metre asphalt track around the main field. Neglected by two-wheelers and no longer meeting standards because of its surface, the velodrome is not used anymore. Rather than leaving it abandoned, the new committee of the club is giving the stadium a second life as it approaches its centenary.

Engaging in a sustainable urban project

The velodrome is part of the club’s history. UGS is proud of this heritage and wishes to give a second life to the site through urban art. The project contributes to safeguarding Geneva’s architectural heritage while transforming it in an innovative way. It allows this historic bike path to come alive again through art.

Combining art and sport

At first glance, art and sport may seem very far from each other. The former embodies beauty and sensitivity, the latter strength and competition. UGS seeks to demonstrate that sports and art are universal forms of expression. Both allow people to communicate across languages and cultures, and to express oneself physically, emotionally and intellectually.

Bringing together artists and athletes

In the same way as a football match unites people of diverse backgrounds and all ages, UGS seeks to bring together artists and athletes in a common project. For the club’s younger players, discovering art in a familiar environment will allow them to rethink their relation to art away from conventional frameworks of schools, galleries and museums. For artists, it is an opportunity to reflect on football as a means of expression and increase awareness on the unifying role of a club such as UGS.

Giving visibility to artists

Many talented artists lack support to succeed in their field. UGS wishes to offer local and international artists a unique support and challenge as well as wide visibility. The artworks will remain until the renovation of the stadium and will be viewed by many passers-by. The promotion of the project by the media and institutional sponsors of UGS will bring attention to the artists and their work.

Videos

The velodrome

stadium eng - copie

THE SITE

LE PROJET

Un projet exceptionnel de Street Art sur le thème de la «Rencontre».
Plus de 60 artistes se réunissent à Genève durant l’été 2020 afin de transformer un vélodrome désaffecté en une œuvre collective monumentale. Ce projet permet à cette piste cyclable historique de reprendre vie à travers l’art.

Historique

Fondé en 1896, Urania Genève Sport (UGS) est le plus ancien club de football du Canton de Genève. UGS, c’est aussi 500 joueurs, une trentaine d’entraîneurs et de bénévoles. En août 2018, la direction du club a été attribuée à un jeune comité passionné qui s’est attelé à la tâche de dynamiser et rajeunir l’image du club. Principal lieu d’entraînement des joueurs et siège de l’association UGS, le stade de Frontenex, à Cologny, offre quatre terrains de football et 4’000 places. Construit en 1920, le stade va bientôt célébrer ses 100 ans. Celui–ci a longtemps accueilli non seulement des footballeurs mais aussi des cyclistes qui venaient profiter d’une piste bétonnée inclinée de 350 mètres autour du terrain principal. Délaissé par les adeptes du deux-roues et n’étant plus aux normes en raison de son revêtement, le vélodrome n’est aujourd’hui plus utilisé. Plutôt que de laisser une pareille surface à l’abandon, le nouveau comité de direction a entrepris de donner au stade une seconde jeunesse à l’approche de son centenaire.

S’engager dans un projet urbain durable

Le vélodrome fait partie de l’histoire du club. Fier de son héritage, UGS souhaite lui donner une seconde jeunesse grâce à l’art urbain, ce qui permettrait de préserver ce patrimoine architectural genevois tout en le transformant d’une façon innovante. Ce projet permet à cette piste cyclable historique de reprendre vie à travers l’art.

Associer l’art et le sport

À l’instar d’un match de football qui est une rencontre entre deux équipes, UGS cherche à réunir artistes et sportifs dans un projet commun. Pour les jeunes joueurs du club, découvrir des œuvres intégrées à un environnement qui leur est familier, permet de repenser leur imaginaire artistique en dehors du cadre plus conventionnel des écoles, des galeries et des musées. Pour les artistes, il s’agit de mener une réflexion sur le football comme moyen d’expression et de prendre conscience du rôle fédérateur que joue un club de quartier comme UGS.

Donner une visibilité à des artistes

De nombreux artistes talentueux manquent de soutien pour s’accomplir dans leur domaine. UGS souhaite offrir à un groupe d’artistes non seulement un support et un défi artistique unique, mais aussi une large visibilité. L’œuvre restera visible sur les abords du stade jusqu’à sa rénovation et pourra être contemplée par des milliers de personnes. La promotion du projet par les médias et les sponsors institutionnels d’UGS doit aussi permettre de mettre en avant les artistes et leur travail.

Vidéos

Le vélodrome

stade fr - copie

LE CHANTIER